Article Details

WAPA Announces 2023 Employee of the Year Award Recipients

Mar 10, 2023

U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS – The Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority (“WAPA” or “Authority”) is proud to announce its 2023 Employee of the Year award recipients.

As Authority leadership continues to emphasize, WAPA employees remain the most important aspect of the organization.  The Employee of the Year award designation was created to honor the outstanding performance, dedication, and professionalism that is demonstrated by the organization’s hardworking team members every day at the Authority. 

This year saw the nomination of 22 remarkable employees, making the selection process a challenging task.  Through careful consideration and evaluation, the following employees were selected for their exceptional work ethic and outstanding contributions to the Authority:

  • St. Thomas/St. John District Employee of the Year: Alex Hodge, Messenger/Repairman, Office and Property Management 
  • St. Croix District Employee of the Year: Rey Belardo, Jr., Line Supervisor, Electrical Distribution
  • Manager of the Year: Kevin Harrigan, Automation Controls Manager, Data and Automation
  • St. Croix Employee Choice Award: Coecilia Bastian, Janitor, Corporate Services
  • St. Thomas Employee Choice Award: J’Mel Henneman, Network Assistant, Information Technology

The individuals listed above have consistently demonstrated a high level of commitment to their work, going above and beyond to make a positive impact at WAPA.  They are highly valued members of the WAPA team, and the Authority is fortunate to have such talented and devoted employees who pride themselves on making the Authority a better place to work.

“I am extremely proud of our award winners and nominees!  I look forward to our WAPA team continuing the mission of the Authority, as we grow together and achieve new heights of success for the betterment of all Virgin Islanders,” notes CEO/Executive Director Andrew Smith.

The Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority extends warm congratulations to its 2023 Employees of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Employee Choice Award recipients!

> Download PDF Version